Another piece of the puzzle.

I am going to try my best to keep up with a post a day. They may not all be so entertaining but it is the practice of writing that is important. Some posts may be personal, some genealogical and some may be about rock n roll. I will do my best to incorporate a bit of all these parts of my life into my writing.

I left off with my original birth certificate in my hands, patiently waiting for DHS to send me my non-identifying paperwork, and a whole lot of questions. For those unfamiliar with “non-identifying paperwork”, this is a document that may be available from the agency who facilitated the adoption. Most state agencies will offer this and an intermediary service to help with reunions if both parties have given consent. The intermediary service can run as high as $400. I chose not to use the intermediary service as I was not anticipating a reunion. I just wanted some names…and I got them. The original birth certificate listed my biological mother’s name, birthplace, and date of birth. It also listed my original birth name (Ask me in person and I will tell you!). As I stated in my last post, “Now what?”.

Where do you start with just a name? I can imagine the proverbial genealogical hand shoot up in the air as every genealogist screams “Ooh! Ooh! I know!” like Arnold Horshack in Mr. Kotter’s face. Ancestry? Facebook? Any number of online person-finder sites? Nope. None of the above. I just used Google. Name, birthdate, birthplace entered into a Google search. Within the first page I found Classmates.com, Ancestry.com, all the person-finder sites. Her name was plastered for two pages. But was it all correct? How much credibility can a person put in all this online info? Looks like I have a post for tomorrow.

On a different note, I just wanted to say “Thank You!” to everyone who liked, shared, commented, or simply encouraged me in starting this venture. I was very hesitant to put myself out there with this persona but the more I thought about it, the more I realized that it is who I am. Many of you have met me in person and know my personality and humor. This isn’t an ego stroke or place for me to wax profound. I recognize my place in the genealogical community. I am learning, listening, and being educated. I have learned something from every person who acknowledged this new venture. I approach this with humbleness and humility. Thank you all again for all your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

