Wiley Tucker Evans

Hope everyone had a great weekend! I took the weekend off from writing to finish preparing and present a lecture on Indian research. I didn’t realize how much I missed writing this blog. I have had many people approach me to tell me how much they enjoy it. Thank you to everyone who has read or followed. It really does mean a lot.

More to the story:

“HONEY! WE’S KINFOLK!” This complete stranger with a picture of my fourth great-grandparents was so excited to meet me. Now remember, we are in the middle of the Muscogee Creek citizenship office at 10 a.m. on a weekday. My wife was standing there, mouth agape, looking in disbelief. She looked at me and back at this very excited woman. She looked at me and back at the same woman now hugging me. She looked back and looked at the same very excited African-American woman hugging me. Yep…my African- American cousin.

My cousin and I  stopped our respective work. She opened her file and showed me her line descending from Thomas and Mary Escoe. She had all the census records, vital records, and pictures I opened my file and showed her what I had acquired. She told me about the correspondence she had with the extended family and how some members of the family were not as “welcoming” to family members who looked different. (That is another post for another time). We finished our work, exchanged contact info, and headed on our way.

When I got back to my office, I decided to dig a bit more into some of the collateral lines of my new family tree. I started collecting census, military, and land records to build a map. I always knew the story of the Trail Of Tears and wanted to see if I could set a migration path for my ancestors who I had located in Alabama and Georgia. I spent a few weeks dedicated to searching these records. The records were jumping out at me. I was piecing together documents, citing my sources. I was rocking and rolling. Then I found Wiley Tucker Evans.

Wiley Tucker Evans is my 3rd great grand-father. He was married to Lettie Escoe, a daughter of Thomas and Mary Escoe. Wiley was born in Texas in December of 1860. I located him in 1870 US Federal Census (see citation below) in Burleson County, Texas. He was “9” in the age column. He was “M” in the sex column. He was “M” in the race column….yep….”M”.

We can discuss that tomorrow.

On another note, excited to say I will be attending the Salt Institute Of Genealogy course in “Solving Problems Like a Professional’ in January 2016. It is always a great time to see old friends and I hope to make some new ones. If you have never met me before, I am kinda hard to miss.

Source: Ancestry.com. 1870 United States Federal Census [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations, Inc., 2009. Images reproduced by FamilySearch. Western District, Burleson, Texas. M953_1577; 221A. [Tucker Evans]..

One thought on “Wiley Tucker Evans

  1. Wow, just came across your blog and am thoroughly enjoying the read!! Wiley Tucker Evans is my 2nd great-grandfather & I too am fascinated with our family history. I too have the same curiosity regarding the ethnicity of our ancestors.

    Like

Leave a Reply

