“B”.

Howdy folks! Once again, I had a week of chaos with lectures and work so the blogging took a back seat. I will do better this week and try be more regular with the posts.

Here we go:

I had researched my ancestors and located them on the 1870 US Census and found them listed with a race of “M” which designates “mulatto”. I knew some of the history of Indians being identified as mixed race and thought this might be the case. I started searching the 1880 US Census for these same names of my ancestors: Mary Mahalia Escoe, Lettie Escoe Evans, and Wiley Tucker Evans. Hopefully it would help explain the “M”. I jumped on good ole Ancestry.com, pounded out a few names, and boom…there they were on the census. “Escoe, Mary M., B” (Lettie and Wiley were still listed as “Mu” for mulatto, see citation).

“B” for black. Well that certainly explained a few encounters I had with unknown cousins! I still wasn’t convinced however. I knew she was enrolled in the Creek nation with the research I had. She wasn’t on the Freedman Rolls so I knew that wasn’t a possibility. I had a few unsourced, black and white, photocopied pictures from Ancestry.com but they didn’t reveal much. The 1890 Census was a bust since it didn’t exist. So now what?

Genealogy nerd alert: Oklahoma and Indian Territory genealogical research can be a great place to help fill the gap of the missing 1890 US Census. The 1890 Territorial Census, the records of the Five Civilized Tribes (including identified “intruders” who were non-Indians living in Indian Territory), the Indian censuses, Indian missionaries, and countless other records and resources can be researched for persons who may have livied in the area. Just wanted to get that out.

So naturally…I went to the 1900 Census and started the search. I located Mary Escoe in Muscogee, Indian Territory and there she was in all her….WHAT? Now she’s enumerated as an Indian. Three different censuses, three different races. So now I’m really confused! I started reading all the info. A few other items were different but it matched my Mary Escoe for the most part. I scrolled the page lower and found something I had never seen before. “Whoa…what do we have here?”

See everyone tomorrow!

Citation:Ancestry.com and The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. 1880 United States Federal Census, Precinct 2, Burleson, Texas [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 2010. 1880 U.S. Census Index provided by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints © Copyright 1999. Mary Escoe, Wiley Evans, Lettie Evans. [accessed 30 June 2015], T9_1293.

Leave a Reply

