Mentors.

Gonna try a new feature for my posts. I am going to post some of the music I am listening to as I write. Now I know that some of this music is gonna be a bit much for some of the readers but I don’t try to hide that I like rock n’ roll. If you feel like checking it out, awesome! Tell me your thoughts or make suggestions of bands I might like. If you don’t care for it, no worries! Different strokes for different folks.

Today’s spin is: The Sword- The Horned Goddess

Where was I….

Mary Escoe, my biological 4th great-grandmother, was really becoming a mystery to me. I now had three censuses with Mary identified as three different races: mixed race (mulatto), Black, and Indian. I know she had Indian ancestry because she was enrolled as a citizen of the Muscogee Creek nation but I was really hoping the 1900 US Census might clear this up for me. But something about this census was different…it had a section I hadn’t seen before.

The 1900 Census was the first census to have a special section regarding Indians. It is a continuation to the standard population schedule called “Special Inquires Relating To Indians”. The designated columns have sections on nativity, mixed blood, conjugal condition, citizenship, and dwellings. The first person listed was Mary Escoe. She was identified as Creek, as was her mother and father. Her mixed blood was listed as half. “Hmmmmm….that doesn’t add up to what I have seen on other records?” I thought.

Conflicting information is the bane of many a genealogist. We have all seen the online family tree that has information that doesn’t match up and, in some cases, may completely negate the tree all together. I learned early on that trying to resolve the conflict is kinda fun. Maybe I’m a glutton for punishment? Maybe I’m insane? Or just maybe….I’m a genealogist! I am an incredibly lucky person to have a mentor that has challenged me to not accept everything I find as truth. My mentor showed me early in my researching that there needs to be more information found to support a conclusion rather than using one source. I am very lucky to have that mentor who makes me the unsatisfied, but curious, genealogist I am today.

So I posed the question: Was Mary Escoe a descendant of black ancestors? I laid out the sources I had and applied all the information I had extracted from them. I analyzed to see if I could resolve this conflicting question. I wasn’t satisfied with the answer. I knew this was going to become a much more complex problem. The answer wasn’t going to lie in Mary”s records only. Mary did not appear on the 1910 US Census. I was going to need to look at her descendants and their records. I knew already that Mary’s daughter and my 3rd great-grandmother, Lettie Escoe Evans, was identified as “mulatto” on the 1880 Us Census. Maybe she would be the key to resolution. I looked her up in the 1900 and 1910 US Census. Guess what I found?

Leave a Reply

